HR Bath – who wants to jump in?

As friends both online and offline are well aware, I am a massive fan of Twitter and take every opportunity to sing its praises.  Nowhere else can one initiate conversations with real people from all walks of life in quite the way that Twitter allows.

Indeed, only last week, the Reverend Richard Coles (who in an earlier career was one half of 80’s pop legends The Communards) very kindly told me which local supermarkets stock the herb mace.  No, really!

But that (chortleworthy as it is) is not the purpose of this post.  The real reason is a call to HR arms.  Let me explain…

I graduated from the University of Bath in 1997 with a BSc in Sociology with Industrial Relations.  How I went full circle into and back out of the legal profession and ultimately into HR consultancy is a long story.  For many years I was unaware that the School of Management has an active HR Alumni programme as I was “legal” not “HR”.

Yep, it's a bath.  Picture of University too obvious I thought.

Yep, it’s a bath. Picture of University too obvious I thought.

Anyway, I am now back in the fold and properly chuffed to be going to my first event next Tuesday 17th September, back at the University.

Imagine my glee, when I received the itinerary for the day and discovered the final session of the day is to be facilitated by Jessica Cooper (@JessicaCooperHR) and to cover Social Media in HR.  Bizarrely, we were already connected, but neither knew that the other had studied at Bath….

Anyway, we had a chat this morning and Jessica shared her ideas for the session.  We thought it would be really rather fantastic to put on a live Twitter chat to show any non-believers the power of Twitter and the scope of expertise and opinion around HR and related topics which inhabits the Twittersphere.

So that’s the plan folks.  If you work in, or around HR, you are welcome.  Thought leader, thought follower, whatever.  If you have an opinion on the place of social media in HR then gatecrash the session, join in our discussion, and help us to show a potentially uninitiated audience the true power of Twitter!

To the uninitiated, this is just a crap drawing of a blue bird.  Can we change that?

To the uninitiated, this is just a crap drawing of a blue bird. Can we change that?

“But how?” I hear you cry….

Join us for #HRBath - rubber ducky is strictly optional

Join us for #HRBath – rubber ducky is strictly optional

Be on Twitter at 2pm on Tuesday 17th September and look for the #HRBath hashtag.  I will be curating the Twitter chat as Jessica facilitates the discussion in the room.  She would like to focus on 2 questions in particular (as she is shortly to begin a PhD on this very topic – how cool is that??):

Q1 – How might organisations use social media to give insight into employee attitudes and behaviour?

Q2 – How might organisations use social media to deliver HR strategy?

If you would like to participate but cannot join us live, why not comment on this post?

Opinions matter….

This entry was posted in Making sense of employment law. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HR Bath – who wants to jump in?

  1. Ian Davidson says:

    Karen
    I was at Bath 1984-1987 reading Sociology with Industrial Relations. I am also one of the co-founders of the HR Alumni group so I am really glad your #hrbath initiative is taking off. A new direction for us. I could not attend the meeting at Bath as it is very costly; but I normally make the London meetings so perhaps I will see you next time

  2. Pingback: Best of the HR Blogs September 2013: 18 great HR blog posts from September 2013 | XpertHR - Employment Intelligence

Leave a Reply

